Partners & Supports

The Montpellier 2028 association belongs to everyone. Partner local authorities, the Montpellier 2028 association office, its artistic and strategic management, but also artists and residents. More than ever before, we are united by culture!

First Board of Directors of the Montpellier 2028 Association

The Montpellier 2028 Association

The Montpellier 2028 Association supported the bid of “Montpellier 2028 – European Capital of Culture”.

Over the months, alongside Montpellier and Sète, and with the support of the Occitanie Region and the Hérault Department, the communities of communes of the
Pays de Lunel, Grand Pic-Saint-Loup, Vallée de l’Hérault, Terre de Camargue and the agglomeration communities of Hérault Méditerranée and Pays de l’Or have gradually embraced this forward-looking, humanistic and optimistic approach.

It also includes a board of associate members made up of the Local Education Authority, the Universities and the Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

The Board of Directors represents the driving forces of Montpellier 2028: local authorities, associate members from the economic, educational and cultural sectors, as well as representatives from sponsor boards, urban sustainable development and tourism, all supporting its work.

The association is in charge of steering the project. Its role is to draw up the bid documents, coordinate and lead the projects and partnerships with all involved, determine the objectives and guidelines for the cultural programme, secure the necessary funding and carry out all relevant actions for the bid to succeed.

Adèle Charvet is President, Claire Fita is Vice-President, Max Ponseillé and Frédéric Schlesinger have been appointed Treasurer and Secretary respectively.

Artistic and strategic direction

Nicolas Dubourg
Artistic Director
Sophie Léron
General Manager

The office of the association

Adèle Charvet
President of the association
Claire Fita
Vice President
Max Ponseillé
Frédéric Schlesinger

Building Montpellier Together

Michaël Delafosse
Mayor of Montpellier,

President of Montpellier Méditerranée Métropole
François Commeinhes
Mayor of Sète

President of Sète Agglopôle Méditerranée
Carole Delga
President of the Occitanie / Pyrénées-Méditerranée Region
Kléber Mesquida
President of the Hérault department
Gilles d’Ettore
Mayor of Agde, President of the Hérault Méditerranée Urban Community
Jean-François Soto
Mayor of Gignac, President of the Hérault Valley Municipal Community
Alain Barbe
Mayor of Les Matelles, President of the Grand Pic-St-Loup Municipal Community
Pierre Soujol
Mayor of Lunel
President of the Pays de Lunel
Robert Crauste
Mayor of Grau-du-Roi,
President of the Terre de Camargue Urban Community
Stéphan Rossignol
Mayor of La Grande-Motte,
President of Pays de l’Or Agglomeration
Eckart Würzner
Mayor of Heidelberg
Peter Kurz
Mayor of Mannheim
Leoluca Orlando
Mayor of Palermo

The sponsors

Founding sponsors

Premium sponsors

  • Corim - Vue imprenable sur la vie
  • Groupe Cirrus Pégase
  • FDI
  • Villégiales promoteur immobilier
  • Promeo on pense comme vous
  • Vestia
  • Vinci immobilier